

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release June 27, 2006

Scholarship winners announced

At its regular Board Meeting on June 27, the District School Board of Niagara announced the winners of the 2006 DSBN Scholarship Awards. \$5,500 in scholarships were awarded to recognize the academic excellence of the secondary students who had achieved the highest marks on board sponsored examinations.

Subject	Scholarship Winner	School
Advanced Functions and Introductory Calculus	Pi-Yun Hsiao	Stamford Collegiate
Biology	Winnie Chan	A.N.Myer S.S.
Canada: History, Identity and Culture	Phil Marsh	Ridgeway-Crystal Beach H.S.
Canadian and International Law	Don Bocchinfuso	Thorold S.S.
Canadian and World Issues: A Geographic Analysis	James Hopson	Ridgeway-Crystal Beach H.S.
Chemistry	Darius Bayegan	Sir Winston Churchill S.S.
Computer and Information Science	Graham Sharp	A.N. Myer S.S.
Dance	Krista Gaverluk	Port Colborne H.S.
Dramatic Arts	Cotey Pope	Centennial S.S.
English	Daniel Mayne	Eastdale S.S.
Exercise Science	Sean Boychuk	Stamford Collegiate
Family Studies	Fizsa Shah	Governor Simcoe S.S.
Francais	Kira Lussier	Sir Winston Churchill S.S.
French	Irene Lozynska	Sir Winston Churchill S.S.
Geometry and Discrete Mathematics	Ian Forneri	E.L. Crossley S.S.
Introduction to International Business	Sarah Fawcett	Sir Winston Churchill S.S.
Mathematics of Data Management	Brennan Beauvais	Lakeport S.S.
Music	Kelsey Vicary	A.N. Myer S.S.
Physics	Graham Sharp	A.N. Myer S.S.
Principles of Financial Accounting	Michael Ashbourne	Eden H.S.
Visual Arts	Sarah Ayton	Centennial S.S.
World History: The West and the World	Ellen Mauro	Centennial S.S.

- 30 -

For more information contact: Shawna Hopkins, Consultant, 905-227-5551 ext. 2300 Reference: Tara Hall, Communications Officer, 905-641-2929 ext. 4160

District School Board of Niagara